Latest news: Inaugural Fellows of the American Dialect Society

ADS Fellows

During the January 2021 annual meeting of the American Dialect Society, a program to recognize longstanding members for their distinguished service to the field of linguistics, and to related fields, was initiated.

It is with great pleasure that we announce the inaugural American Dialect Society Fellows named at that time:

John Baugh
Robert Bayley
Ron Butters†
Connie Eble
Joan Houston Hall
Bill Kretzschmar
Allan Metcalf
Dennis Preston
Luanne von Schneidermesser
Walt Wolfram

New fellows may be nominated by a committee in any given year, at the committee’s discretion.

2020-22 Nominating Committee
Sali Tagliamonte (chair)
Michael Adams
Sonja Lanehart