Latest news: Call for Papers for Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C., Jan. 7-10 2016

Call for nominations for two American Dialect Society positions

October 1st, 2014 § Comments Off § permalink

The American Dialect Society Nominating Committee (David Bowie, Connie Eble, and Luanne Von Schneidemesser) welcomes suggestions of nominees for two positions.

Member of the Nominating Committee, a two-year term, 2015 and 2016. (David Bowie rotating off.)

One Member of the Executive Council, a four-year term, 2015-2018. (Continuing members are Kathryn Remlinger, Grand Valley State; Alexandra D’Arcy, U. of Victoria; and Jeffrey Reaser, NC State.)

If you would like to suggest ADS members for either or both of these positions, please send their name, affiliation, and a few sentences about them to the chair of the committee, Connie Eble,, by October 30.

Presidential Honorary Memberships: Call for Nominations

September 25th, 2014 § Comments Off § permalink

American Dialect Society members are invited to nominate outstanding students for Presidential Honorary Membership. Each year the ADS president awards three of these memberships. Recipients are given four years of complimentary membership and recognition at the annual luncheon.

This year’s deadline for nominations is November 10.

Any student, graduate or undergraduate, is eligible. Any ADS member may nominate a candidate by sending an explanatory letter of recommendation to Executive Secretary Allan Metcalf at Relevant attachments may be included with the recommendation.


Where Am I?

You are currently browsing the News category at American Dialect Society.